Organizers and Host

Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (FIOCRUZ)


Brazilian Centre for Validation of Alternative Methods(BraCVAM)


Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (FIOCRUZ) is a centennial research institution, createdon May 25, 1900. It was first called Serum Therapeutic Institute. Initially theobjective was to produce serums and vaccines against the plague. After thedesignation of Oswaldo Cruz as director in 1902, the institution expanded itsactivities and became involved in research and experimental medicine.

The foundation became the base for Oswaldo Cruz’s famous sanitationcampaigns in Rio de Janeiro. That time the city suffered with epidemics ofbubonic plague, yellow fever and smallpox. After bypassing the critical situationin Rio, the foundation made scientific agreements that played a decisive role inthe occupation of the interior of the country. In response to requests from thegovernment, the institute laid the foundations to the establishment of the National Department of Public Health in 1920.

Nowadays, FIOCRUZ is linked to the Brazilian Ministry of Health and is present inmany Brazilian States as well as in Africa and it is formed by different areas ofknowledge, such as: research, education, maternal hospital, tropical diseasehospital, drug production, vaccine production, quality control for the BrazilianHealth Surveillance Agency, history of Science etc.

As one of the most important research institutions in Brazil, FIOCRUZ is a leadingorganization in promoting scientific research and development. In particular, itpromotes the development of non-animal methods that are closer to humanresponses and represent a technological evolution providing new approachmethodologies that are scientifically and ethically based.

The Brazilian Centre for Validation of Alternative Methods (BraCVAM) in locatedin FIOCRUZ. It is linked to the institution’s Presidency, directly to the Vice-Presidency of Research and Biological Collections.

The idea of BraCVAM emerged in an ATLA article in 2008 due to the greatnumber of researchers studying alternative methods and it was conceivedfollowing other similar centers in the world.

The main aim of BraCVAM is to validate New Approach Methodologies (NAMs) inBrazil. BraCVAM was responsible for suggesting the National Council for theControl of Animal Experimentation (CONCEA) to officially recognize over 40OECD methods based on new approach methodologies. Furthermore, itsuggested to include the Monocyte Activation Test as an official monographwithin the Brazilian Pharmacopoeia, which is an ongoing work by a workinggroup of which BraCVAM is part of.

BraCVAM and the Institute of Science and Technology in Biomodels (ICTB)developed the first Lato sensu Course on Alternative Methods, which has already3 classes formed since its creation.

Local organizing committee

  • Octavio Presgrave - Chair
  • Chantra Eskes - Co-Chair
  • Marize Valaderas - Co-Chair
  • Luciene Balottin
  • João Carlos Basílio
  • Andrezza Canavez
  • Julcemara de Oliveira
  • Rodrigo De Vecchi
  • Leila Leal
  • Ekaterina Rivera
  • Marta Speck
  • Camila Sgrignoli Januario
  • Murilo Vieira da Silva
  • José Mauro Granjeiro
  • Antoniana Ottoni
  • Cristiane Caldeira
  • Carolina Barbara de Oliveira

By clicking on the 'Read More' button, you can read more about the members of the Local Organizing Committee, including their biographies and pictures.

Scientific Committee

  • Natalie Alepeé
  • Anax Falcão de Oliveira
  • Kelen Fabíola Arroteia
  • Marcelo Asprea
  • João Barroso
  • Luísa Ferreira Bastos
  • Helena Kanďárová
  • Sandra Coecke
  • Bruno Dallagiovanna
  • Suzanne Fitzpatrick
  • Anne Gourmelon
  • Chrisna Gouws
  • Laura Gutierrez
  • Thomas Hartung
  • Erin Hill
  • Sebastian Hoffmann
  • Nicole Kleinstreuer
  • Megan LaFollette
  • Elliot Lilley
  • Paulo Abílio Lisboa
  • Bianca Marigliani
  • Gavin Maxwell
  • Ana Carolina Migliorini Figueira
  • Barney Reed
  • Yasuyuki Sakai
  • Maren Schenke
  • Pilar Vinardell
  • Mathieu Vinken
  • Laura Viviani
  • Kristina Wagner
  • Kate Willet

By clicking on the 'Read More' button, you can read more about the members of the Scientific Committee, including their biographies and pictures.